NESG awards, Shonekan, others for their contributions, The Nigerian Economic Summit Group
Oct 2019

The Nigerian Economic Summit Group (NESG) held its 25th Nigerian Economic Summit (NES) Anniversary Dinner themed “Shared Responsibility: Building and Sustaining a Strong Economic Future for Nigeria” on the 7th of October 2019. The silver jubilee anniversary dinner featured an Anniversary Lecture by Mr. Atedo Peterside, Chairman, ANAP Business Jets Limited and awards presentation to deserving individuals who have served the NESG over the years.

The 25th anniversary dinner was a celebration of a legacy of selfless service and the Nigerian Economic Summit Group paid tribute to the founding fathers of the organization for their vision, which has helped to guide and shape the group as well as positively impact Nigeria.

As a result, the NESG presented long-service awards to men and women who have dedicated themselves to serving not only the NESG, but more importantly rendered their time, skills and effort in the national interest. A number of distinguished guests were present at the awards presentation, including; Mrs Ibukun Awosika, Chairman, First Bank Limited, H.E., the Executive Governor of Edo State, Governor Obaseki and H.E., the Executive Governor of Ekiti State, Governor Kayode Fayemi.

There were three award categories including: The NESG Lifetime Corporate Awards, the NESG lifetime awards and the NESG long term service awards. The NESG Lifetime Corporate Awards was presented to Exxon Mobil, Shell Nigeria, First Bank Nigeria and 7up Nigeria.

Furthermore, the NESG Lifetime Awards was presented to Chief Ernest Shonekan, Mr. Pascal Dozie, Mr Dick Kramer, Mr. Faysal ElKhalil, Alh. Ahmed Joda, Senator Ibrahim Ida, Chief Philip Asiodu, Mr. Avian Anderson and Mr. Paul Caldwell; while the NESG Long Term Service Awards were presented to Alh. Mohammed Hayatudeen, Dr. Imo Itsueli, Prof. Anya Anya, Mr. Atedo Peterside, Mr Bunmi Oni, Mrs Funke Osibodu, Mr Dotun Sulaiman, and Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa.

The Nigerian Economic Summit Group (NESG) a non-profit, non-partisan private sector think tank with a mandate to promote and champion the reform of the Nigerian economy into an open, private sector-led globally competitive economy organizes the Annual Nigerian Economic Summit (NES) in partnership with the Federal Government of Nigeria through the Federal Ministry of Budget and National Planning. The NES is the flagship event of the NESG and has become an annual dialogue which has consistently provided a widely recognized platform for top policy makers and corporate leaders.